Better With Bacon: Maple Bacon Cupcake

4 Sep

I can’t think of a better time to run our latest installment of Better With Bacon than International Bacon Day. That’s right – bacon has its own day. And why shouldn’t it? I mean, bacon is equally delicious for breakfast, lunch and dinner, in snacks… even in desserts. Today we’re going to look at the maple bacon mancake from Toronto’s For the Love of Cake, a baked good that could pass for either breakfast or dessert.

For the Love of Cake opened in early 2010 offering custom cakes, in addition to a selection of what they call 4 Dimensional Cupcakes. These cupcakes feature cake in a variety of flavours, fillings including creams and fruit, toppings including frosting and whipped cream, and a complementary garnish (cookies, chocolate pieces, etc.) But it’s the bakery’s mancakes – cupcakes including ingredients such as beer, whiskey, kirsch and bacon – that have garnered the most attention. And of course, it was the bacon that caught my attention.

I’d visited For the Love of Cake a few times hoping to try their maple bacon cupcake, only to discover the flavour unavailable on my visit days. Since I’m never one to turn down the chance to eat baked goods, I settled for trying other flavours on those occasions. And while a couple of the cupcakes I tasted were good – the japanese ginger, for one, was delicious – I didn’t taste any that were amazing enough for me to cross town to get my fix.

Fortunately, Jenny managed to grab me one of the elusive maple bacon cupcakes recently, and it was definitely worth the wait. For the Love of Cake’s maple bacon cupcake features a batter flavoured with maple syrup and including bacon pieces, filled with blueberry preserves, and topped with maple frosting and bacon pieces. The taste is similar to eating pancakes with maple syrup, with a side of bacon – as I said, a flavour combination that would work as dessert, or with your morning coffee.

If I had one complaint about the maple bacon cupcake, it would be the same one I have of all of For the Love of Cake’s cupcakes – they’re too small. For the Love of Cake’s cupcakes are dense and flavourful, but they look more like cupcakes you might cook at home than the large-sized ones you find at most bakeries. Still, that’s a small complaint when they manage to pack so much bacon goodness into such a little package.

One Response to “Better With Bacon: Maple Bacon Cupcake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Better With Bacon: Skillet Bacon Spread « Communal Table - November 23, 2010

    […] certainly been a while since our last installment of Better With Bacon. Far too long, as far as I’m concerned. I’ve been sorely deficient in […]

Tell us what you think!

