Better With Bacon: Bacon Bourbon Caramel Corn

10 Jun

Bacon Bourbon Caramel Corn

There’s been a rather long stretch of silence here at Communal Table. But fear not – after a well-deserved taste of La Dolce Vita in Italy, we’re back. And the good news is that we have a whole slate of exciting posts scheduled over the next couple of weeks, including looks at some of the delicious things we ate on our vacation.

First up, though, is the introduction of a new feature that I hope will be a regular occurrence here. I’m calling it Better With Bacon because it will showcase – you guessed it – some great food products made even more delicious by one of the world’s most perfect meat products.

For our first Better With Bacon, I’m reviewing a sample I received from the folks at Salted Caramel, of their Bacon Bourbon Caramel Corn. This bacon-kissed snack treat came about when Chicago chef Ginna Haravon took up a 2007 Superbowl snack challenge. The product became a hit among Haravon’s friends and family, and after a bit of tweaking, she introduced it to the bacon-loving public in 2009.

I’ve always loved caramel corn. And while I’ve never loved caramel corn anywhere near as much as I love bacon, I knew that a product combining these two great tastes with a hint of delicious alcohol had to be good. And I was right. Salted Caramel’s Bacon Bourbon Caramel Corn is very good, not overly sweet, and gets a good kick of salt and smoke from both the bourbon in the caramel and the real bacon pieces tossed with the popcorn.

I have to admit, though, that as a bacon lover I was expecting a bit more of a pronounced smokey taste in the finished product. Enter Salted Caramel’s newest creation, Smoked Pecan Bourbon Caramel Corn. I was also sent a sample of this, and was surprised to find that the smoked pecans in this had that intense flavour I found a bit lacking in the Bacon Bourbon Caramel Corn. Perhaps the Salted Caramel team will consider combining the two into a Bacon Smoked Pecan Bourbon Caramel Corn for their next product?

In any case, these two products can be ordered online, and Canadians will be pleased to know that the company has just started shipping to Canada. The next Superbowl might be months away, but it’s not too late to order a couple bags to enjoy during the upcoming World Cup.

4 Responses to “Better With Bacon: Bacon Bourbon Caramel Corn”

  1. www.katushateam.com August 6, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it
    for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Rome « Communal Table - July 19, 2010

    […] Jul In my last post, I mentioned that our silence earlier this summer was the result of our trip to Italy. I also […]

  2. Better With Bacon: Bacon Lollipops « Communal Table - July 27, 2010

    […] better occasion for the second installment of Communal Table’s Better With Bacon feature than National Junk Food Day, which just happens […]

  3. Better With Bacon: Maple Bacon Cupcake « Communal Table - September 4, 2010

    […] And why shouldn’t it? I mean, bacon is equally delicious for breakfast, lunch and dinner, in snacks… even in desserts. Today we’re going to look at the maple bacon mancake from […]

Tell us what you think!

