Learning About Canadian Beef

19 Jul

Canada Beef

Aside from being lots of fun and something that Jenny and I enjoy doing together, this blogging thing has connected us with some interesting opportunities. There have been chances to preview new restaurant menus in Toronto. We were part of an all-Canadian recipe creation event centred around Canadian beef, for which we invented our now infamous Moogarita beef cocktail.

And now, something new: I’ve been chosen as a brand ambassador for Canadian Beef, and I’ll be spending the next year helping to share information, create recipes and just generally shine a light on one of Canada’s most important agricultural products.

Why am I doing this, you might ask? I’m not doing it because Canadian Beef is paying me (though they are compensating me for the monthly assignments I’ll be completing, with a small stipend each month). And I’m not doing it because they’ll be supplying me with some great beef products to showcase and cook with (although they will be, and I’m quite excited at that).

I am doing this because I’m passionate about good food, and good food produced in Canada by hardworking farmers and others. And I’ve always loved cooking with beef, and sharing my recipes with others. And as a Canadian Beef brand ambassador, I’ll get to do just that, and hopefully help Communal Table readers boost their beef knowledge.

My first monthly assignment was simply to read through the beefinfo.org website, to better understand how the organization supports Canadian beef producers and consumers. And they wanted me to share with you my favorite part of the Canadian Beef website. As a cook who is always looking for ideas on recipes and techniques, the Cooking Lessons section was definitely the one that jumped out at me. It’s packed with step-by-step lessons, with how-to videos and recipes to match, on how to expertly prepare your beef using a variety of methods—grilling, braising, etc.

And you can submit a question for the Beef Expert, which will be answered on the site. Currently there are more than 20 questions with answers listed, everything from “How large a roast do I need to buy?” to “Do you have some tips for cooking beef in the slow cooker?”

Check out the site when you have a chance!

6 Responses to “Learning About Canadian Beef”

  1. Lissa July 19, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Will there be a beef flavoured ice cream in the future?

  2. Mitch May 15, 2017 at 11:47 pm #

    Play inafvmotire for me, Mr. internet writer.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finding My Burger Personality with Canadian Beef « Communal Table - August 9, 2012

    […] meals, and what makes an ultimate burger. And since I’m a Canada Beef Brand Ambassador (as I mentioned a while ago), I’m helping to spread the word. You can check out a full description of all the personality […]

  2. unsweetened.ca / Meet The Team – Canadian Beef Ambassadors #LoveCdnBeef - unsweetened.ca - June 16, 2014

    […] communaltable.wordpress.com/ – Learning About Canadian Beef – “I am doing this because I’m passionate about good food, and good food produced in Canada […]

  3. Meet The Team - Canadian Beef Ambassadors #LoveCdnBeef - unsweetened.ca - September 20, 2016

    […] communaltable.wordpress.com/ – Learning About Canadian Beef – “I am doing this because I’m passionate about good food, and good food produced in Canada […]

Tell us what you think!