Pineapple Lemon Basil Sorbet

9 Nov

Pineapple Lemon Basil Sorbet

Most home cooks have a favorite kitchen appliance or tool. For me, it’s my ice cream maker. Friends of ours gave us their ice cream maker to ‘babysit’ while they lived overseas a couple years ago, and it was love at first sight. They’ve since moved back to Canada and reclaimed their machine, and we got one of our own as a wedding gift. As I’ve indicated in previous posts, our ice cream machine has gotten a pretty good workout over the past year or so.

One thing I hadn’t tried making before this summer was sorbet. But when we spotted a bunch of intense, sweet lemon basil a couple months ago during a trip to the St. Lawrence Market, I knew a sorbet would be the best way for the flavour to shine through. I checked out a couple of sorbet recipes online to get an idea of ingredients and proportions, and went to work on creating my own recipe. I decided to add pineapple, primarily because we had half a leftover pineapple in the fridge, but also because I thought it would complement the flavour of the basil nicely. And, I decided to try using agave in place of sugar.

Here’s my recipe for Pineapple Lemon Basil Sorbet:

1 C lemon basil leaves, chopped
1/2 pineapple, cored and cubed
1/4 C agave
1 C water
2 tbsp tequila

Blend basil, pineapple, agave and water in blender until well mixed. Stir in tequila (this is optional, but a little alcohol slows the freezing process a bit, improving the texture). Freeze in ice cream maker.

That’s it. This was such an easy process – even easier than making ice cream, really (which is already a fairly simple process). And the results were more than worth the minimal effort. The lemon flavour of the basil and sweetness of the pineapple really went well together. And as much as I love making (and eating!) ice cream, sorbet is a lighter, refreshing alternative that I’ll definitely experiment with again.

Tell us what you think!

