Curried Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew with Kale

30 Oct

It’s crazy how quickly the seasons change. Every year at the start of fall it feels like the weather turns way too quickly and all of the sudden flip flops get replaced with boots, tank tops with cozy sweaters. I always spend a good few weeks in denial, not wanting to say goodbye to the warmth of summer.

And then somehow you reach a point when it finally feels good to welcome fall and the crispness in the air is familiar and maybe even comforting. I made this stew on one such night a few weeks back. It was the day I succumbed & fully welcomed the changing leaves, the need to grab a scarf in the morning and that feeing that there’s no turning back – winter is on its way.

It was the kind of fall evening where it felt really good to be at home, listening to good music, cooking something hot and satisfying in my kitchen.

I was craving something healthy but rich and this stew did the trick. It’s the kind of meal that warms you from the inside out.

I used a Malaysian curry powder blend that I recently bought at Jean’s Vegetarian Kitchen on Danforth (I’m obsessed with their Malaysian Curry Eggplant) and it had the perfect balance of flavors for this recipe. But you can of course make your own blend pretty easily. I would recommend using a mix of dried spices instead of just straight up curry powder because you need that depth of flavor.

The Malaysian curry blend that I used has a really nice kick to it without being overly spicy. It’s a mix of: coriander, cumin, fennel, pepper, cayenne, turmeric, anise, ginger, garlic, cinnamon, mustard seed, cloves, fenugreek & cardamom.

If you don’t have all of those ingredients, I suggest mixing the more common ones: yellow curry powder, garlic or onion powder, ground fennel and cumin, cayenne, turmeric, cinnamon, powdered mustard.

This is the kind of dish that you can’t really screw up. Adjust to your tastes.

Curried Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew with Kale

1 Medium onion, chopped

1 shallot, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 head cauliflower, chopped into medium sized florets

1 bunch of black kale, chopped

1 can chickpeas, drained

1 can coconut milk (regular or light)

1 tin diced tomatoes (I only had whole ones, so I chopped them myself)

5 tsp curry blend (I used Malaysian curry powder and they were heaping tsp’s)

2 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

Heat olive oil on high, add onions and shallot, sauté until brown (about 8 min).

Add the curry powder and sauté with onions for a minute. Add carrots, cauliflower and chickpeas and mix well. Season with a bit of salt.

Add in tomatoes with a bit of the juice and coconut milk. Add in the chopped kale.

Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low. Cover and let simmer for 20 minutes to a half hour or more. Season with salt and pepper and serve bubbling hot.

Makes great lunch leftovers. I even ate mine cold for lunch the next day and it was delicious.

3 Responses to “Curried Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew with Kale”

  1. Marigold October 31, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Made this today, and it’s delicious! You’re right, it’s healthy and hearty all at once, which is nice to have in a stew. I squeezed some lime over the stew before serving, which I find brings out the flavors even more. Equally good with crusty baguette, or served with rice. Super yum!

  2. Jenny Tryansky October 31, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    A fresh squeeze of lime always makes everything better!
    So happy you liked it! What did you use for spices? Did you make a blend? Just curious to know what it would be like without my magical pre-mixed Malaysian curry powder.

    • Marigold November 4, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      I used my 3 tsps. of curry powder – which is a blend of curry, turmeric, chili, coriander, cumin, cinnamon, clove, bay leaves, allspice and salt – and an additional tsp. each of coriander, cumin, cayenne, 1/2 tsp. of turmeric, sprinkle of cinnamon. I toyed around with putting some garam masala in, but decided to hold out and see how this batch turned out before I fiddled with the recipe. I also used lite coconut milk and a large can of diced tomato with all the liquid, which was necessary as my batch was pretty big.

      If you’re into Malaysian food, let me know if you’re interested in my recipe for Laksa, which is a coconut noodle soup. It’ll cure whatever ails you.

Tell us what you think!