Holiday Giveaway #3: Win a Subscription to Style at Home Magazine

14 Dec

Style at Home

Though Communal Table is primarily a food-focused blog, Neil and I also want to share some of our other passions; the kinds of things we like to discuss over a good meal.

One of those ‘other’ passions for me is design.

I kind of fell into working in design television several years ago and it pulled me in. Though I like to dabble in different genres where work is concerned, in life I’ve become a bit of a design junkie.

I’ve got my favorite design blogs that I check daily (Design Sponge and Making it Lovely are two of them, but the list is long), but what gets me really excited is coming home to find my mailbox spilling open with the gift of a great magazine inside.

Neil and I both have a thing for magazines. Neil is a magazine editor, so he truly understands the value of the printed page. And for me, there’s just something about leafing through those glossy pages, feeling the smooth paper between my fingers and admiring the beautiful things inside. Cozying up with a new issue of a great magazine and reading it cover to cover is one of my guilty pleasures and it really does make me happy.

So, in the spirit of opening up the blog to more of the things in life that we adore, we’re giving away what I consider to be the perfect holiday gift (one that keeps on giving!); a year-long subscription to Canada’s own Style at Home Magazine.

Neil got me a subscription last year and every month I’m still excited when a new issue reaches my door. I’ve given magazine subscriptions as gifts to friends as well, and it makes me happy to know that they’ll have something wonderful to enjoy all year long, and will think of me when each new issue arrives.

Style at Home is a beautiful magazine that’s not only filled with amazing design ideas, but great recipes too. Neil has been known to read over my shoulder from time to time.

I’ve had the great pleasure of working with the magazine’s Editor-in-Chief, Erin McLaughlin and Contributing Design Editor (and HGTV celeb) Samantha Pynn, and I can tell you for certain that these women live and breathe design and truly have a passion for sharing the latest and greatest in style.

To enter for the chance to win a subscription:

  1. Leave a comment below telling us what magazines you love to read and why.
  2. You’ll also get a bonus entry if you tweet this phrase: I entered to win a subscription to @StyleAtHome mag from #CommunalTable. Enter here: http://wp.me/pJ0ov-eC

That’s it! The winner can keep the subscription for themselves or give it as a gift to someone else.

You have until next Monday evening, December 20, to enter. We’ll draw a name from all entries and we’ll announce the winner here next Tuesday morning.

This time around, our friends at Style at Home have allowed us to open the contest up to both our Canadian and American readers, though American entries will be eligible for a digital subscription, whereas Canadian entries will be eligible for delivery of a print subscription.

Also, don’t forget about Communal Table’s donation drive on behalf of the Daily Bread Food Bank. With the help of our readers, we’ve collected more than $1,100 to help feed people in need. But we’re not done yet! All donations made by midnight on Saturday, December 18 are eligible to win a $200 gift certificate to North 44 Restaurant in Toronto and a signed copy of chef Mark McEwan’s new cookbook, Good Food at Home. Click here for details on how you can donate and win with Communal Table.

Happy holidays everyone! We’ve got lots of exciting content planned for 2011, including some great stories about design of all kinds…

31 Responses to “Holiday Giveaway #3: Win a Subscription to Style at Home Magazine”

  1. toniiii December 14, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Atomic Ranch is my favorite. I’m in love with a modern style (especially if it has a mid-century twist) and it nice to get ideas of what others are doing in their homes.

  2. Rebeca December 14, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Domino was my favorite prior to it ending. Now I love Elle Decor, Interior Design and waiting on High Gloss!!!

  3. Jessica W. December 14, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I love reading Food and Wine. I’m an absolute nerd for receipes. Reading them, trying them, collecting them. It makes me feel like I’m preparing myself to be a housewife haha. :D I love how people are so creative, and I want to some day be able to create great dishes like that on my own.

  4. Alison Heal December 14, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Around our house, we love reading Bon Appetit. I’m married to a chef, so that one’s a given. I love opening up the mail when it arrives, as usually the cover makes me want to cook!
    I don’t currently have a subscription to Style at Home, but that’s another fave of mine. So many great ideas, and I LOVE home design and decor.

  5. chalbe December 14, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    I love Flare, fashion from a Canadian perspective.

  6. Chandni December 14, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I love reading The New Yorker. Partly for the great articles, and partly because it makes me feel like a smartypants! :P

  7. dmhaen December 14, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I love to read any kind of home magazine especially Canadian ones like Style at Home and Canadian House and Home.

  8. Jen Clark December 14, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    I love Dwell, if only to dream about one day building a modern masterpiece. Also love House & Home and Style at Home – my reno ideas binder is stuffed with tear pages from those magazines!

  9. Lisa December 14, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Canadian House & Home. I love to get ideas that I can revamp (for less!) and incorporate around my house.

  10. Melissa December 14, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    I love Style at Home and Canadian House and Home–my tear-sheet collection is getting huge! I also love Dwell, and I did love Gourmet before it went…sniff.

  11. Noemi December 14, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    I love Dwell – I can’t get enough of it and Elle Decor UK. Most recently though I’ve come to come Rue (even though it’s an online mag).

  12. Maria G. December 14, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    I love the Style at Home Magazine!

  13. Laura Seymour December 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    I read ReadyMade, BHG, Dwell, Met Home and Do It Yourself.

  14. Katebug December 14, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    I enjoy Canadian Living, as well as any magazine with food in it! :D

  15. kraftedbykelly December 15, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    One of my favorite magazines is Martha Stewart Living! There are always such helpful, inspiring articles and gorgeous pictures. :)

  16. Katie December 15, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Help-I have no idea if I’m posting this correctly! If I am, then I just have to say that I love Style At Home Magazine. Many friends write for it, many friends have their homes featured in it-and I simply love design and beautiful things!

  17. Gary Lin December 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I like to read home magazine because it tells me how I can decorate my home and improve my home.

  18. jessica December 16, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    love to read chatelaine!
    jessicatang90@hotmail.com

    • sharonnelt December 16, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

      I like to read Oprah

  19. Jenny December 17, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I love to read Good Houskeeping!

  20. Tannie December 17, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Canadian House and Home! :)

    I also tweeted!

  21. carol rose December 17, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    I like Canadian Living for the recipies – always tried and true.

  22. Amy December 17, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    I enjoy reading Canadian Living because it covers a variety of topics from food to fashion to health issues and beauty.

  23. Denise Condran December 17, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    I love to read Canadian Living and Racheal Ray because I enjoy all the wonderful recipes!!

  24. tina December 18, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    i love canadian living. great articles about homemaking and some delicious and easy -to – make recipes in there!

  25. Tracey December 18, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Love to read Women’s Health for their tips on healthy living.

  26. Heather Next Door December 19, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I don’t need a SAH subscription (was given one as a gift), but I’m a magazine fiend so I had to chime in. I love Elle Decoration UK and Style Etc. I’m a fan of the British shelter mags because they often feature smaller and more unusual spaces, which I find more relevant and interesting. And too it seems more of them have been decorated by their owners, rather than professionals. I’ve only seen a few issues of House Beautiful, but I quite liked them.

    It kills me that Gourmet is dead. I have a substitute Bon Appetit and it’s Not The Same.

  27. Angie December 20, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I love magazines! My favourites are Chatelaine, Style at Home, Canadian Living, Elle, National Geographic.

  28. Jennifer December 20, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Real Simple Magazine. It covers everything and the title remains my goal in life; to keep things as simple as possible.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Holiday Giveaway #3: Win a Subscription to Style at Home Magazine « Communal Table -- Topsy.com - December 14, 2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Style at Home, Neutral Dwelling, CLB, Alison Heal , Erin McLaughlin and others. Erin McLaughlin said: RT @StyleAtHome: RT @jennytryansky: Design junkies – we're giving away a subscription to @StyleAtHome http://wp.me/pJ0ov-eC [...]

  2. Daily Bread Donation Update + A Winner! « Communal Table - December 20, 2010

    [...] Things have been a little quiet on Communal Table over the past week or so, with Christmas prep slowly but surely taking over our lives. But we’re going to start this week off with some good news posts. Tomorrow, we announce the winner of our final 2010 Holiday Giveaway prize, a one-year subscription to Style at Home magazine. If you haven’t entered, today’s your last chance – click here for more info! [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

