Holiday Giveaway #1: New PC Insider’s Report Products from Loblaws

30 Nov

One of the things I love most about the holidays is the excitement that builds in my mind around traditions. Over the years as my family circle evolved, our holiday traditions did too. My parents’ divorce, relatives passing away, my moving away from home and other events led to new ways of celebrating the holidays. But no matter what’s happened, some things that I’ve grown to look forward to at Christmas haven’t changed. My mom and relatives always put out far-too-indulgent feasts of delicious food, I always make sure to get in at least one viewing of A Christmas Story, and as far as I’m concerned, Christmas isn’t officially over until I get to hear The Pogues’ Fairytale of New York at least a dozen times.

Another holiday tradition I’ve looked forward to for as long as I remember is the President’s Choice Insider’s Report. Since I was a kid, I’ve always loved reading through the pages of the Insider’s Report, with its descriptions of products reading more like stories than marketing copy. As a kid, I knew that the arrival of the Insider’s Report in the Saturday paper meant it was only a matter of time before delicious treats began making their way into our kitchen… PC Egg Nog, Chocolate Fudge Crackle Ice Cream, PC smoked salmon on Christmas morning.

So it seems fitting that Communal Table’s first 2010 holiday giveaway is a selection of products from the latest edition of the PC Holiday Insider’s Report. We have a package of goodies that would go great with a morning of opening presents… or would make pretty good gifts themselves. Here’s what you can win:

  • A 1 lb. package of of new PC 100% single origin Hawaiian fine-grind coffee (Jenny and I are currently working our way through a package of this stuff; it’s medium bodied and flavourful – perfect for weekends!)
  • A 425 g jar of PC The World’s Best Jumbo Cashews
  • A box of the new PC Gourmet Belgian Chocolate Collection (30 chocolates in six flavours)
  • A box of the new PC Chocolate Fruit Fancies, which  are milk or dark chocolate ganache and fruit puree enrobed in Belgian chocolate

This stuff all looks delicious, and to be honest I’d love to keep it and eat it all myself. But Jenny won’t let me, so we’re giving it all away to one lucky reader. All you have to do to enter this contest is this: Leave a comment below this post and let us know what your favorite holiday traditions are (Canadian entries only for this one). That’s it. We’ll pick a name at random from all comments left on this post by Monday, December 6, and announce the winner here next Tuesday, when we’ll also announce our next holiday giveaway prize (yep, we have more holiday surprises coming!)

Also, don’t forget about Communal Table’s donation drive on behalf of the Daily Bread Food Bank… all donations made are eligible to win a $200 gift certificate to North 44 Restaurant in Toronto and a signed copy of chef Mark McEwan’s new cookbook, Good Food at Home.  Click here for details on how you can donate and win with Communal Table.

160 Responses to “Holiday Giveaway #1: New PC Insider’s Report Products from Loblaws”

  1. Carly November 30, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    My favourite holiday tradition is eating WAY too many of my mom’s latkes and then feeling terrible about how much I consumed. Why do they have to be SO greasy and SOOOO good? And why do I keep eating more than I should, year after year???

    My second favourite holiday tradition is the fairly new one of lighting the menorah, and eating a big Indian feast with some like-minded friends :)

    • Antuaneth R December 1, 2010 at 4:12 am #

      my favorite tradition is baking shortbread cookies, everyone loves them. We get together with the whole family and on Christmas eve at midnight we open presents have some hot chocolate and cookies, then we stay up for the whole night taking and playing monopoly :)

    • Candace Tattrie December 2, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      My favorite holiday tradition is having everyone our on Christmas morning for a nice breakfast before we exchange gifts. It is nice to have the family together, and my father always cooks us a great meal :)

  2. sandra November 30, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    My favorite tradition is waking up first thing Christmas day and cooking bacon,eggs and hash browns then eating breakfast while opening the presents.

  3. Wayne S November 30, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Every Christmas Eve at exactly midnight, we each open one gift from each other. It is usually small (we enforce a dollar limit), but it’s a great way to end an exciting day!

  4. donna l. November 30, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is putting up and decorating the Christmas tree.

  5. nick a. November 30, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is the big family get together for Christmas dinner.

  6. Amber B November 30, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Our family makes and decorates homemade cookies every year. This tradition always makes me happy! :)

  7. Ted Kooper November 30, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    We have a big BBQ event, even in winter. We just bring the food inside to eat.

  8. Marcus B. November 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    My favourite tradition is serving a plethora of President’s Choice products to my guests like PC Puff Pastry Hors D’oeuvre Collection, PC Red Velvet Cheesecake, and can’t forget fabulous drinks like PC Blue Menu Pomegranate Soda!

  9. Susan Rivard November 30, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Our favorite holiday tradition we started about 5 years ago, we bring someone over for dinner that we know wouldnt have anywhere to go or anyone to celebrate with. It makes us just as happy as the person we invite and we always have fun and good food!!!

  10. Heyman H November 30, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    My Favorite holiday is to celebrate Eid with the family and it’s all about having a a good food on a table and the gathering, sometimes my sisters don’t make it in time to our city :( , but after all I do enjoy the food :)

  11. Kanchan R. November 30, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Our favorite tradition is to drink PC eggnog during Holidays.

  12. joyce s. November 30, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    My favourite tradition is baking cookies with my kids.

  13. Kelli B November 30, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    My favorite family tradition is going down to the local shelter and dropping off many different thing for the families and individuals in need :) This will be my son’s 3rd Christmas and he is already so excited to drop food and hygeine products off

  14. Liana @ femme fraiche November 30, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    My favourite tradition is going to Reeves with my mom and sister to buy a new Christmas ornament for our tree. We do it on a Friday night every year and then we get McDonald’s for dinner:) So simple, but it’ll always be my favourite

  15. cc November 30, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    My Family has a tradition that we watch each other open one present at a time we try to stretch it out so it is a fun affair and we look forward to it every Christmas morning.

  16. Shelley N. November 30, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    We always go to a local tree farm with our children to cut down our perfect spruce tree. The kids have lots of fun pointing out possible trees. After we get the tree loaded we buy some fresh cooked french fries and hot chocolate from the french fry truck they have at the farm.

  17. Elaine November 30, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Eggnog ! the first sign of Christmas goodies is Eggnog.

  18. Andrei L. November 30, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    A lot of my family live in Europe, so every Christmas I fly out to the Netherlands to see my dad and we drive out to southern France to celebrate the holidays at my uncle and aunt’s house near Montpellier.

    It’s a very beautiful house in a picturesque little village in the mountains. We have more food and wine and good conversations during that one week period than during most of the rest of the year.

    Spending time with family truly is magical.

  19. josee marie November 30, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    My favourite holliday tradition is reunite with all members of my familly for a good reunion, eating and talking. I’m so excited in the holliday

  20. mikeor@telus.net November 30, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is having my mom’s Christmas pudding with Brandy sauce. It is a recipe from her great grandmother. It wouldn’t be Christmas dinner without it!

  21. Laurie Yagelnesky November 30, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    My favourite family tradition is going to midnight mass on christmas eve.

  22. Rachel Naud November 30, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    When we were living in Winnipeg, every Christmas Eve, I’d order $200 worth of Chinese Food and our friends and family would drop in for Chinese Food and drinks.

    Christmas morning was all about fresh cinnamon buns and “wife saver,” which when you think about it is actually kind of gross – layers of bread, eggs, back bacon, cheese, green pepper, onion all topped off with Special K cereal and baked until fluffy and bubbly for 45 minutes. Even though some family didn’t like it – we all had to eat it. It was tradition after all!!

    And, of course, bottomless pots of freshly brewed coffee.

  23. Marcia Y November 30, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    My favourite tradition is baking cookies for my family.

  24. Jenna Y November 30, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    My favourite family tradition is opening one gift after midnight mass.

  25. Patricia B November 30, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Going for a drive to see the Christmas lights.

  26. Rae T. November 30, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Believe it or not, my favourite holiday tradition is when all 15+ members of the extended family get together for dinner, a gift exchange and a Rock Band marathon into the wee hours of the morning!

  27. Emma November 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    An apple inside everyone’s stocking.

  28. Matt Williams November 30, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is Christmas Eve Tacos! It’s easy, fun, and something that most people really associate with Christmas.

  29. Monica November 30, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Years ago my mom and I always got together for a marathon holiday baking session, my mom is no longer here, but now my daughter and I continue this tradition.

  30. Kyle November 30, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Labeling someone as “Christmas dad”. Aka been in the sauce too much.

  31. Karen November 30, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Decorating the Christmas Tree and turning the tree lights on for the first time.

  32. Tammi L November 30, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    My favorite tradition is letting the kids open a present on Christmas Eve. They have been waiting so long and it is such torture for them! I actually try to hide as many of them as I can until after they go to bed that night so that it isn’t any more difficult than necessary. Plus it makes for a magical morning!!!! Oops, I guess that is two traditions!

  33. Bruce November 30, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I have to say my favorite tradition is setting up the ceramic village that I painted over the years. It is something that my daughter waits for and it feels good that it makes her so happy.

  34. Jessica Wismer November 30, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    My fav tradition is watching the Junior Games with my dad enjoying a nice rye and ginger….it’s some great father/daughter time :)

  35. Erika November 30, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is watching It’s a Wonderful Life. It’s such a great movie!!

  36. Bruce November 30, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Favourite tradition is having a turkey dinner with family.

  37. Gizele November 30, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Favourite tradition is doing a lot of baking for family and company.

  38. Morgan November 30, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Favourite tradition is decorating and putting up a big Christmas tree.

  39. cindy nickerson November 30, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Our holiday tradition is on Christmas eve to drive around and look at all the Christmas lights and then come home and make hot chocolate and sit around the living room and read The Night Before Christmas.

  40. Ethan HB November 30, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Favourite holiday tradition is Advent wreaths and lighting of candles.

  41. brianne sheppard November 30, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    My Favorite tradition is opening one present on Christmas eve! It gets picked out by our parents (still!) and it always pjs! I do it with my son now!

    • Brenda Penton November 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

      Our family Christmas tradition starts early. Every year we go to the Santa Clause parade, and have a big breakfast in the car while we wait. Sort of like a big picnic. This year our town has changed the parade to an evening parade, so it will be supper that we will be taking with us. The parade is this coming Sunday, and we are really looking forward to it!

  42. serena debolt November 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Our favorite holiday tradition is playing road hockey in the evening with all the neighbours.

  43. Katebug November 30, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    My favourite tradition is eating pancakes every Christmas morning, it just wouldn’t be the same without!

  44. Deanna B November 30, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Our favourite is taking a drive around the neighbourhood and looking at all the lovely christmas light displays. If it’s warm enough, we do it on foot!

  45. lynn November 30, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    my favoirite is baking elf cookies with my son

  46. Jen S November 30, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    My favorite Christmas tradition is watching the original” Christmas Carol” movie on Christmas eve and after the movie ends everyone picks one present they would like to open early.

  47. Nicole November 30, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is celebrating advent with cookies and family time for each of the 4 Sundays before Christmas. A chance to stop the hectic pace and enjoy the holidays.

  48. kelly November 30, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Our family tradition is very much about spending time together. Dinner, playing games, laughter, desserts, and having fun with the kids. Few moments throughout the year top this day…amazing!

  49. wayne November 30, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I enjoy stringing popcorn and putting it on the Christmas tree. The fun part is sneaking a few with the girls while my wife give us THE LOOK! Funtimes with the family

  50. Catherine November 30, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    My favorite tradition is piling on my parents’ bed with my brother and sister (even though we are all adults now) on Christmas morning and opening our stockings.

  51. Susan November 30, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Ever since our boys were little (they are 22 and 28 now) we play the song, “And So This Is Christmas” by John Lennon and Yoko Ono. My husband loves the Beatles! It just wouldn’t be the same without hearing the song first thing on Christmas morning. :)

  52. Cebe November 30, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Decorating the Christmas tree and baking cookies!

  53. J416 November 30, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    My fave tradition is how happy everyone gets when we unwrap presents together as a family =)

  54. Bree November 30, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    My favorite tradition is spending Christmas eve with my family eating tons of awesome snacks and drinking eggnog!

    • Rashmi Patel November 30, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

      My favourite tradition is opening gifts on Christmas afternoon (since Mom usually works night shift at hospital). And I love those PC Belgian Cookie Tins!! We give them to everyone as gifts (and keep a few boxes for home too). YUMMAY :D

  55. cassandra November 30, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    My favorite holiday tradition is helping my boyfriend make his family’s meat pie recipe from scratch. It’s so much fun making/fighting with the dough, being up to our elbows in flour and the smell of the meat mixture simmering on the stove.

  56. JAMES November 30, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    Stockings for everyone! Full of neat little things that suit our personalities with an orange in the tip of the sock! …and mixed nuts!

  57. Virginia November 30, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Watching on TV all the old Christmas movies. The older the better. Wrapping the presents while watching them.

  58. Melanie D November 30, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    My favourite christmas tradition is spending over 6hrs decorating my house, with my 2 sisters and my mom. We go all out – garland on the railings, wreaths, and christmas lights everywhere. It is a real workout, but we keep up our strength by eating massive amounts of chocolate.

  59. Amy December 1, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    My favorite tradition is opening an early present on Christmas Eve- It’s always Pajamas! My parents always did that for us- so now I do it with my daughter!

  60. Carla December 1, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    My favourite Christmas tradition is still waking up on the morning of and opening/watching kids opening presents

  61. Brenda Lacourciere December 1, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    Our Holiday tradition is to get each family member their favorite food and do a potluck sort of meal on Christmas Eve.

  62. Leslee Nicholson December 1, 2010 at 4:04 am #

    Our favourite family tradition is to particpate in our town’s tree lighting ceremony near the ocean boardwalk. I bundle up my daughter in her warmest clothes and away we go. They serve warm cider and hot chocolate, and the lights reflecting off the water makes the evening seem so magical.

  63. Nate December 1, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    Our favourite family tradition is to have a big family dinner on Christmas eve.

  64. Sharon December 1, 2010 at 4:26 am #

    My favorite Christmas tradition was everyone sleeping over at my parents place Christmas Eve. Even though my sisters were married with kids, they all came “home” for Christmas.

  65. eunoia December 1, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    My favourite holiday tradition was when Dad would put on Mahalia Jackson’s Silent Night Songs For Christmas and we’d spend a winter’s evening listening to her belt out a tune (and she sure could.) After years of missing this tradition, I found this record again and now I have two copies.

    A newer tradition involves drinking fearlessly knowing I have President’s Choice Candy Cane Egg Nog in the fridge as a miracle cure for hangover. I still haven’t seen any.

  66. laura December 1, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    my favourite holiday tradition is having the big dinner with all the family

    • Shawn E December 1, 2010 at 6:37 am #

      My favorite holiday tradition is opening a gift of choice at 12 midnight on Christmas Day.

  67. allison rouse December 1, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    my favorite holiday tradition is taking out all my christmas decorations and remembering who gave them to me as gifts and putting them up.they each have a special meaning to me

  68. Tami Harper December 1, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    My favorite holiday tradition (aside from getting the PC Insiders Report, that is!) is buying matching PJ’s and a new Christmas tree ornament for my kids. They get to open both on Christmas eve and after they put on their new PJ’s and hang up their ornament we snack on finger foods and watch Christmas movies. It’s a tradition that my parents started and I am honored to pass it down to my children. Simple but fun :)

  69. Julia December 1, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    My favorite holiday tradition making hand-made soap – every year, I make all kinds of hand-made soap, and give it aways as gifts. I make Christmas-themed soap – cranberry, chocolate, and even a peppermint one that’s striped like a candy cane.

    • Julia December 1, 2010 at 6:45 am #

      I’m having trouble entering my email, so I’ll write it here: Juniperequinox@yahoo.ca

      Cheers,
      Merry Christams!

  70. Deborah cook December 1, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    my favorite tradition is taking advantage of all the sales after the holiday is over !

  71. Brenda December 1, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Our holiday tradition is having the x-mas songs playing Dec 1 till boxing day, and eating lots of sweets yummy, yummy

  72. Dan Brown December 1, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    My favorite holiday tradition is shopping! Holiday shopping, boxing day shopping, boxing week shopping, it’s all a lot of fun… of course it’s always nice following it up by sleeping lots as well. Thanks!

  73. Kris December 1, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    My favourite tradition is getting up early with the family, and cooking back bacon for breakfast. While we are all relaxing around the table enjoying the food and our aromatic coffee or hot chocolate (age dependent) we begin to open our stockings which we hang on the backs of our kitchen chairs. The stockings always have the same type of stuff in them each year, however, I think what I enjoy is the togetherness of the activity.

  74. ck December 1, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    my favourite tradition is getting surprise gifts that i wanted

    • rachel December 1, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      going to our friends house and playing board games

  75. jo-anne December 1, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    My favorite tradition is sipping mimosas on christmas morning, while opening our gifts, and calling friends and family in a cheerful state. Followed by a long walk in the snow to see the lights at the lege grounds

  76. Jennifer hunt December 1, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    My favorite holiday tradition is making my kids christmas themed pancakes like my dad used to do for me :) they love them!

  77. Huguette E. December 1, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    My favorite Christmas tradition is Christmas Eve at my parents with all the family followed by midnight mass.

  78. zeta mcmillan December 1, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    My favourite holiday tradition is on Christmas Eve we get together for egg nog, eat homemade christmas cookies,take pictures by the tree and sing christmas carols . My favourite cookie is the shortbread!

  79. Vicki H. December 1, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Every Christmas I make my caramel popcorn. I make it only at the holidays because it is so good. If I made it more often, we would be the size of a house! It is so good, and everyone looks forward to it.

  80. francine a December 1, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    my favorite tradition is to watch the muppet christmas carol with dh and ds lol. (ds finds the muppets hilarious)

  81. Jenny December 1, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    All the kids make sugar cookies for Santa – they roll them our and cut out the outline of their hands. Then they your smarties as the finger nails – very cute! Although as they get older, the cookies get bigger – a lot of cookies for Santa to eat :)!

  82. Jessica M December 1, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    My favourite holiday tradition is watching A Christmas Story for 24 hours on TBS. Can’t get enough!

  83. daniela December 1, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    My favorite holiday tradition is when my brother and my sister come from out of province. I don’t get to see them often, and the holidays makes that happen. It makes me feel like they never left !

  84. Shonna December 1, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    My favourite tradition is Christmas breakfast. We have young kids. Both sets of grandparents come over. It’s just a good time and good food.

  85. Tanis Sergeew December 1, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Decorating the tree, listening to music, drinking Eggnog.. but my favorite is playing board games with family on Christmas Eve! :-)

  86. Josee Blagdon December 1, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    My favorite tradition in our family is that we all take turns being ‘Santa’ every year, it’s always alot of fun!

  87. Tara Hanley December 1, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    My favorite holiday tradition is puttin gup our Christmas tree on December 1st while drinking hot chocolate and listening to Christmas songs. It is a great way to start off the holiday season by getting everyone in the spirit!

  88. Patricia December 1, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    My favorite tradition is making a gingerbread house from scratch with my smallest cousins….it’s a lot of work, but totally worth it!

  89. elaine December 1, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    My favorite thing to eat during the holidays is chocolate. I never eat the stuff any other time of the year but once Decemeber hits I am all about the chocolately goodness

  90. ro December 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Meeting the family for christmas dinner is my favourite tradition

  91. jessica December 1, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    favourite tradition = family dinner

  92. BTB December 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Putting up the tree with all the lights and tinsel and treats after. Smile

  93. Jacqueline Wright December 1, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Our favorite household tradition is going to my father in law’s house every Christmas morning for the Christmas Day Brunch feast. It leaves all of us so full that hardly any of us can eat the big dinner that ensues! Even my 2.5 year old is looking forward to that part of Christmas this year!

  94. Diane52 December 1, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Our favourite holiday tradition is our Christmas Eve seafood feast.

  95. Elizabeth V December 1, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    My favourite family tradition is still the decorating of the tree. The music, the food and drinks. And then the ornaments come out, no designer, colour coded tree here! Lots and lots of memories in each and every different ornament. Some that the kids made over 25 years ago. The stories come out. Just a great, great day. Any mother would love this!

  96. Amy M December 1, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    One of my favorite holiday traditions is holiday baking starting up to a month or more before Christmas. Cookies, squares, fudge, candy-every sort of sweet imaginable!

  97. Jennie Lake December 1, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is baking holiday cookies with my daughter, even if my daughters only input is eating cookie dough!

  98. Michael G December 1, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is making the trek to my sister’s to see my little neice’s face light up at the site of her Christmas gifts! My son’s first Christmas is this year and I cannot wait for the new traditions for our family’s new addition! For christmas night, I watch A Christmas Carol with my dad!

  99. David L December 1, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is just eating at home with my family, catching up and chatting.

  100. Wendi Maroon December 1, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    My favourite tradition came about in a funny way. Even as an adult my father always guilted me into going to midnight mass on Christmas Eve. Finally, when I was in my thirties I got up all my muster and told him I wasn’t going to church. All ready for a fight, instead he just said ‘ok, can you wrap your mother’s gifts while we’re gone then’. The following year there was no question that I wasn’t going to church anymore so after my father took me aside and asked me to wrap my mom’s gifts, my mom took me aside and asked me to wrap her gifts to my dad! Neither of them ever knew I was wrapping gifts for both of them, both thought they had a secret. After that it just became one of our little traditions, that while they went to church I’d wrap their gifts to each other. I think my mom knew though because she knew my father couldn’t wrap gifts without making a mess and now they’re always perfectly wrapped, with ribbons and bows and loving little stickers. To this day, everyone pretends they don’t know anything…but I think they do. In any event this tradition has kept me from having to attend mass at midnight and gets all my parents gifts to each other nicely wrapped and “magically” under the tree.

  101. Lisa Lundstrom December 1, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    opening that “one” gift christmas eve…always got pj’s…

  102. Phyllis December 1, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Favorite tradition is putting up a Christmas tree with loved ones!

  103. Isabella December 1, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is wearing brand new matching pajamas for the whole family on Christmas eve.

  104. Mary Wong December 1, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    My favourite tradition is putting up the christmas tree, putting my presents under the tree and opening the presents and rewrapping them. Then putting it back under the tree. :)

  105. Peter December 1, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    Ah the Insider’s Report. All those stories with Dave. When I was a kid I had no idea how important he was at Loblaws. I thought he was just a guy telling me about memories of Baden Gingerbread.

  106. Roger Simmons December 1, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    My favorite family tradition is to put up our tree as a family. We always put it up shortly after remembrance day and although it’s early, the anticipation of putting presents under the tree is quite a task in itself. We always leave enough time between then and Christmas so we are not last minute shopping and are not overwhelmed with last minute expenses. Consider it a budget balancing act also:_)

  107. Tux December 1, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Turkey for the Christmas meal…

  108. Susan Spidle December 1, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is watching my hubby make the dressing for the turkey and the gravy.

  109. Jung Youn Moon December 1, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is having fabulous dinner with my family and watching TV together. :P

  110. Treena December 1, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    My favorite holiday tradition, growing up my brother and I would usually have the same treats in our stocking from year to year. We would always have a clementine in the toe of the stocking, he would get a box of Rose Bud chocolates and I Willow Crisps(My brother is allergic to peanuts. Followed by wax-paper wrapped piece of ribbon style candy and of course Santa always left a few special surprises. Topped off with a Candy Cane… hmmm just like the ones that were on our tree. I have so many more I could go on for days. Thanks for allowing me to share just one.

  111. Daniel December 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is the food of course.

  112. SCV December 1, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Setting up Xmas Lights.

  113. A.Palmer December 1, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    waking up christmas morning..making coffee,turning on the yulelog channel ,cranking the christmas tunes and opening presents!!

  114. MissT December 1, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    holiday traditions were putting up the Tree in November because I couldnt wait any longer. Juicy turkey and cranberries sauce with sweet potatoes and of course hanging with good friends and family.

  115. Linda December 2, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    Watching all the cartoon Christmas specials on TV.

  116. Lisa December 2, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    My holiday tradition is letting the kids open a gift from each other on Christmas Eve to get them so excited about Christmas!

  117. stacey dempsey December 2, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    my favorite holiday traditon is that we have xmas dinner on xmas eve , then watch home movies, the kids love to see themselves when they are babies etc and i really love to go back and see it too , then xmas day we have no cooking to do and lots of yummy leftovers to eat

  118. Kristine December 2, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    We wrap up new PJ’s and toss them into the middle of the yard so there are no foot prints around them. Then we pretend to hear a noise in the back yard run out and get the gifts. Every year Mrs. Claus drops off the new PJs and sends a little note reminding the kids to go to bed soon so her husband can come by. Cheesey but it works! ha ha ha

  119. Jennifer December 2, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    My absolute favorite Christmas tradition is the huge breakfast that we eat on Christmas morning, with waffles, fruit, dainties and a little Bailey’s to warm up my coffee!!

  120. Brandon lyddon December 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    My favorite holiday tradition is to sit by the fireplace and drink a hot chocolate and watch home alone 1 and 2.

  121. Jan December 2, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    My favourite part of the holidays is getting time off and the food. Love turkey, stuffing, brussel sprouts, etc even more than all the sweets!

  122. BRIANNE December 2, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Baking Christmas cookies with mom!

  123. Francis December 2, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    White elephant gift giving with the family and the extended family.

  124. Pram December 2, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Baking cookies and shortbread with the kids.

  125. Janice Ingram December 3, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Our family are scattered across the country. Alberta to the Maritimes. Christmas isn’t always getting together, but with the kids cellphones and webcams we have instant, spontaneous communications. I’ve always thought the phone companies should give us free time on Christmas, don’t you agree?

  126. gbamber December 3, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Eating a big delicious holiday dinner!

  127. Carmelo CANTO December 3, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    My favorite family Christmas tradtion is going to Midnight Mass and then coming home and ripping open the gifts.

  128. M Spoly December 3, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Christmas eve watching the classic Christmas shows with the kids like we did with our parents. After opening gifts and a sumptuous breakfast Christmas morning, getting bundled up for a day on the toboggan hill and then off for a family dinner at a siblings home.

  129. James Crampton December 3, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    My favorite tradition is the Christmas Eve gathering of family and friends around the fireplace, sharing eggnog and stories of Christmases past. Then, we all sing Silent Night together in candlelight.

  130. Jonathan December 3, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    I like to set up a small 2 foot tall tree in the living room. Decorations left over from a time when a full-sized tree was used are used to fill the small tree. It’s small and cute.

  131. Mary L December 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    My favorite tradition is to gather family and friends together Christmas eve for a pot luck dinner then out to a candle light church service then have everyone back for hot chocolate and homebaked Christmas cookies.

  132. Garett December 3, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    My favorite holiday tradition is getting together on Boxing day with the family and all watching A Christmas Story in the morning and then the Canadian World Jr’s in the afternoon.. along with obviously enjoying our new gifts.

  133. Jonathan S December 3, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Chicken Salad for Christmas!

  134. Jennifer December 3, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    My favorite holiday tradition is to open our stockings once we get up, and then have a big breakfast with homemade waffles, fresh fruit with real whipped cream.
    After that we can open the main gifts.

  135. bluevektor December 4, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    My family and I love going down to the soup kitchen during the Christmas break and helping to serve food or singing Christmas carols in the main hall.

  136. joanne December 4, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    My favourite holiday tradition is going to my aunt’s house on Xmas Eve. She always has a big party & all my extended family visits. We catch up with each other, eat & drink too much, and have a great time!

  137. Jesse December 4, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    Every year around christmas my friends and I all bake the best treats that we can and then meet up to try them all and generally be merry. The tradition also consists of us drinking egg nog with rum and watching Die Hard II. If all goes well we end up full and warm on the inside, with enough energy to cheer for the battle on the airplane wing at the film’s climax.

  138. Diane Anderson December 4, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    Spending Christmas with our family, big dinner at our house

  139. Donna MacPherson December 4, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Potluck supper with the family after church on Christmas eve.

  140. Jennifer A. December 4, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    My Favorite holiday tradition

    The spirit this time of year is so magical and has always been for me. As a child decorating the Christmas tree, drinking hot chocolate with marshmallows and watching all the classic Christmas movies on television. I have kept this favorite holiday tradition alive through my children and grandchildren.

  141. Francine December 4, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is my annual baking day, where I spend the day making decadent treats for my friends and co-workers.

  142. Camilo Leite December 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Our holiday tradition is watching Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer on Xmas evening. I used to do it in Brazil with my parents and now I do with my own children in Canada.

    Camilo

  143. Chantel December 4, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is driving around in the car on Christmas eve to see the lights on people’s houses.

  144. Elizabeth Peterson December 4, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    My favourite thing to do for Christmas is spending special Christmas moments and joy with my children and family

  145. liz sopwith December 4, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    When we were first married we didn’t own, and couldn’t afford decorations for our christmas tree. We ended up tying short lengths of thread to Quality Street chocolates and hanging them from our tree. They looked so pretty we’ve done it every year since!

  146. Peter December 4, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Driving out to visit the family and cutting down a fresh spruce tree to decorate

  147. C December 4, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is having turkey and mashed potatoes with my family.

  148. SheilaL December 5, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    My favourite holiday tradition is decorating the Christmas tree with my children. Even though he is 26 my son still likes to be the one who puts the star on the tree.

  149. Heidi December 5, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    My favourite tradition is decorating with lights – it makes your space look magical!

  150. Andy Shen December 6, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    My favourite holiday tradition is waking up and opening presents.

  151. KEN December 6, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    I love decorating the tree with as many decorations as possible!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Once Win a President's Choice Insiders Report Prize - Canadian Freebie Forum ~Canada's top free sample, coupons, & contests forum - November 30, 2010

    [...] a President's Choice Insiders Report Prize Expiry Date: Dec 6, 2010 Quebec: Yes http://communaltable.wordpress.com/2…eport-loblaws/ All you have to do to enter this contest is this: Leave a comment below this post and let us know [...]

  2. Holiday Giveaway #2: High-Quality Spanish Olive Oils « Communal Table - December 7, 2010

    [...] And the second goal was to give our readers a chance to share in some of our favorite things. As I mentioned last week, we chose to give away some PC Insider’s Report products because I have fond memories of [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

