Artfully Obsessed: Charlotte Hosten & Zipper Necklaces

11 May

Everyone who knows me knows about my addiction. It’s something I can’t kick, but everyone needs a vice, right?

I am obsessed with beautiful things. Beautiful handmade things make me swoon; jewelry in particular. And when I get excited about something, everyone hears about it. So this blog will have to serve as an outlet once in a while for my obsessions beyond food and cooking.

I am in LOVE with my new Charlotte Hosten necklace. And the best part is that she’s a designer from my native Montreal.

Her pieces are drop dead, stop-you-in-the-street gorgeous! When I saw the navy collar (pictured above) at Shopgirls (a fabulous Toronto shop that promotes local artists and designers) last week, I gushed and stood in the mirror for way too long admiring myself in it. Then I thought about it and dreamed about it all weekend long, which is a symptom of this crazy addiction of mine, until I convinced myself that I couldn’t live without it. Clearly it had to be mine!

I love the design of this piece, the weight of the glass beads, the sparkle of the little crystals and the fact that the grey flower is removable and can be worn as a brooch. It’s just so well made and well designed.

My husband thinks I’m nuts, but every piece that I fall head over heels in love with is like a little orphaned child that I just need to take home and nurture. And I truly do fall in love. I have such an appreciation and admiration for artists and visionaries who have the talent, creativity and skill to bring beautiful things to life. And I love sharing them with like-minded people even more.

So I’ll share just one more (for now).

A few months ago on one of my Etsy-surfing nights I discovered an artist from New Orleans whose work blew me away. Marigold, aka ‘dreamer76’ is a true artist who takes coiled zippers and turns them into show-stopping pieces of wearable art. The minute I saw her shop I knew I had to have one of her zipper necklaces. Well, maybe two.

I missed my chance to buy an amazing vintage gold zipper necklace she had created so I initially bought a black and silver one and messaged Marigold to see if she’d make me a custom gold necklace. That’s what makes Etsy’s business model so damn awesome. I had instant access to a jewelry designer in New Orleans, who I started emailing with and who kept in touch and kept me in the loop when new designs came out. So when she created this second amazing gold zipper necklace and gave me first dibs at buying it I was thrilled. (She will do custom, by the way!)

Every Etsy item I’ve purchased has come to my door like a true gift. Every artist has included a handwritten note, packaged and wrapped my items in a beautiful and unique way and has included some kind of free gift (like a surprise pair of earrings or a hair clip!). So thoughtful.

So although my bank account may suffer every once in a while from my obsessive behavior, at least the artists can rest assured that their pieces are going to a good home where they’ll continue to be appreciated and loved. There’s nothing like buying a beautiful piece that someone made by hand. I plan to continue giving into my addiction (within reason of course!) and I hope to keep sharing my finds with anyone who will indulge me.

UPDATE: Here’s an updated post all about Marigold Pascual, the artist behind the zipper jewelry. She’s offered a discount to readers of Communal Table – check it out here

2 Responses to “Artfully Obsessed: Charlotte Hosten & Zipper Necklaces”

  1. Jayme May 11, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    you are the cutest older sister anyone could ask for. love the blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feed Your Creative Side: Zipper Jewelry « Communal Table - April 23, 2011

    [...] of my very first posts on this blog was about my obsession with handmade things, jewelry in particular, where I mentioned the zipper [...]

Tell us what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

